Louisiana supreme court rules that priests don’t have to report evidence of child abuse to police
Laws that require people to report evidence of child abuse or neglect are standard in almost every U.S. state.
But thanks to a Louisiana judge, priests in the state are now exempt from that law. In other words, if a child confides with a priest in a confessional booth about any form of abuse, the priest is not obligated to say anything.
Prompting the ruling was a case from 2014 when 14-year-old Rebecca Mayeaux confided in Catholic priest Jeff Bayhi that she was being molested by a 64-year-old man who was a member of their congregation.
Want to read more? Please click…